top of page

Mexican Beans Vegan Style


I will tell you, I am the furthest thing from a vegan or even a vegetarian. I like steak with a side of steak. Those beans, however, are great and served over fresh, steaming Basmati rice they are almost a meal in itself. Of course, if you are like me, you will use chicken broth and add bacon to it. Drooling right now.

Here's how I see it; cows are vegan, never seen a cow eating a steak and therefore I could call myself a vegan. My daughter will cringe at this


I am out for a few weeks from Thursday on and so I will keep this one short and sweet, or spicy if you prefer. See you on the other side.


By the way, I started a new Youtube channel "The Georgia Gourmet" and if you are as kind as all vegans are, you will go there and subscribe. Much appreciated it. You can do so towards the end of the video below.


People's choice to become vegan, from people I've spoken to, seems motivated by fear.

. ~ Anthony Bourdain


Ingredients:

1 tablespoon canola oil

1/2 yellow onion, diced

5 large garlic cloves, chopped

2 cans (15 oz. ea.) black beans, rinsed

1 1/2 cups vegetable broth, store-bought

1/2 bunch cilantro, chopped

salt and pepper to taste

Sriracha to taste


Directions:

In a saucepot heat oil over medium heat, then add garlic and garlic.

Cook until onions become translucent and lose their raw appearance, about 5 minutes.

Add beans and stir briefly to mix ingredients.

With a potato masher, mash beans until about 2/3rds of beans are mashed.

Add vegetable stock and bring to a boil, then reduce heat to a simmer.

Simmer beans for about 8 to 10 minutes or until preferred thickness has been achieved. Cook longer for thick beans or less for more soupy beans.

Remove from heat and stir in cilantro. Taste and season with salt and pepper as desired.

For spicy beans add sriracha sauce or diced jalapeños.

 



 

My YouTube Channel: The Georgia Gourmet

My Etsy Shop: PureGeorgia Shop

Link to My Story: Tropical Itch



 

Your feedback is always welcome at puregeorgia@yahoo.com, or if you have a recipe you would like to share with me and the world, click the “Login/Subscribe” button and become a contributor.

 





3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page